SOLD – Marc Baumann, “Ekta Dia, abstraction in blue”, 1991, canvas

Description

What I like

I like the very peaceful side of the palette of this work, in particular this washed blue, very worked background. The work drawing a leaning rectangle, itself centered with a square motif in brighter hues, where the blue is more accentuated with white, yellow and even pink, is extremely lively: the brushstrokes are extremely diverse: no doubt the painter has he used a brush but also knives.

I like the fact that this painter is represented in national collections and has received awards, that he has been widely exhibited.

This painter deserves to be appreciated for his fine work: in front of this canvas, one can let one’s mind wander, towards a universe of constructed beauty but which does not impose anything: each one makes his way thanks to this writing while restrained and in delicacy, without being at any time cutesy.

Technical description

Marc BAUMANN (1921-2012)

“Ekta Dia, abstraction in blue”, 1991

Oil on canvas signed lower right and dated 91, countersigned, dated and titled in marker on the back and labeled.

Around 1991.

Surround of natural wood sticks.

Dimensions and weight

Height: 97 cm – Width: 67 cm

Weight: 1kg

Mix & Match

This painting is subtle with its calm palette, in the blues: suddenly, its large size is not a handicap but a great asset: we have a work of art endowed with its own personality, which will flourish on your walls, whatever other paintings and sculptures you present. Similarly, its soft chromatic range allows it to rub shoulders with a Louis XV period gilded wooden console as well as to give a bit of its shimmer to the Banque de France desk in walnut veneer and chromed metal, from the 1965s. .

On the walls, we can make him meet the tapestry of Daniel de Linières, Vent d’été, with the selected colored range, or always of Daniel de Linières, the tapestry Nuit d’Espagne, whose very colorful flat areas will be a counterpoint in the calm of Baumann.

More allusively, the Cubico chandelier by Gaetano Sciolari, with its bluish verrines and chromed metal, will resonate with the poetry of Ekta Dia by Baumann.

Finally, on a table placed not far from our painting, the chrome curves of our Finimetal lamp will be able to illuminate it.


SKU 129 Category


Share
Description

To know more

The artist

Marc Baumann is a French abstract painter born in 1921 in Paris, who lived in Morainvilliers (Yvelines), died in 2012 in Orange (Vaucluse).

Marc Baumann trained in painting at the National School of Decorative Arts between 1940 and 1947, in Raymond Legueult’s studio. Based in Sceaux, in 1945 he won the Prix d’honneur of the François Desnoyer workshop. He designed tapestry cartoons made in Aubusson and for the Manufacture des Gobelins, notably Le Printemps in 1950 and Poème à la mer in 19513.

It was around 1980 that the painting of Marc Baumann slipped from figuration to abstraction.

Personal exhibitions:

Nayberg Gallery, Paris, 1978.

Air France Gallery, Paris, 1979.

Emma Gallery, Paris, 1980.

Rolde Gallery, Paris, 1981.

Muscade Gallery, Paris, 1985, 1987, 1989.

Saint-Louis Gallery, Poissy, 1995.

Town hall of Aubergenville, 1996.

Sales of the Marc Baumann studio, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, November 22, 1999 and March 19, 2001.

Marc Baumann – Retrospective, Domaine Berson, Mantes la Jolie, January-February 2016.

Critical reception

“In the contemporary world, there is no longer any real border between East and West. The artist, freeing himself day by day, achieves an art without borders, universal. Zao Wou-Ki the Chinese and Marc Baumann the French go to the summary, to the essential. Nothing other than painting and the feeling that runs through it… For them, painting is a melody expressing chance, indecision, imagination, transparencies, lights, hidden cracks. Technique disappears before emotion. The color no longer exists. The only thing that counts is the vibration… The writing in this calligraphy leaves traces of lost footsteps, doubts, hesitations, repentances, eternal new beginnings and great enthusiasm. Painting of the soul which does not say but which suggests, which slips from one canvas to another without ever repeating itself. One painting leads to another. A painting is an opening to the next. With these two painters, a painting is inside a chain, a series, going until the exhaustion of the theme. They are of the restless race of demanding painters, concentrated, silent, serene. – Joel Millon and Claude Robert.

Awards and Recognition :

Honorary prize from the François Desnoyer workshop, 1945.

Medal from the city of Mantes-la-Jolie, 1978, 1980.

Deauville Grand Prix, 1979.

Prize at the Salon du Mans, 1979.

Public Collections:

National Furniture, Paris

National Center for Plastic Arts, Paris, deposit: Rectorate of the Académie de Paris

A beautiful authentic painting at a fair price

This painting has been carefully selected for its aesthetic qualities, its originality and its fair price. Our choice favors above all the talent shown by Marc Baumann in this work, guarantee of a valuation of your new acquisition in your interior and an ability to dialogue with your furniture, to agree and to mix to create a decoration. unique.

Buying a vintage painting is surely a reasonable investment, so great is the appetite for the 1960s/1970s.

Finally, buying a vintage painting preserves the resources of planet earth.

Additional information
Weight 1 kg
Dimensions 67 × 97 cm
Créateur

Epoque

Quick delivery

Secured paiement

Responsive support

Quick delivery

Secured paiement

Responsive support

About

Dominique de Paillerets is passionate about objects and art. He likes to combine Design furniture from the 70s and the 18th century, in the spirit Combining refinement and the spirit of the seventies

Secured paiement

Privacy Preference Center

VENDU – Marc Baumann, « Ekta dia , abstraction en bleu, 1991 », toile

Description

Ce que j’aime

J’aime le côté très apaisé de la palette de cette œuvre, en particulier ce bleu lavé, très travaillé du fond. Le travail dessinant un rectangle penché, centré lui-même d’un motif carré aux teintes plus vives, où le bleu se relève davantage de blanc, jaune et même rose, est extrêmement vivant : les touches sont extrêmement diverses : sans doute le peintre a-t-il utilisé un pinceau mais aussi des couteaux.

J’aime le fait que ce peintre soit représenté dans des collections nationales et ait reçu des prix, qu’il ait été largement exposé.

Ce peintre mérite par son travail tout en finesse d’être apprécié : devant cette toile, on peut laisser voguer son esprit, vers un univers de beauté construite mais qui n’impose rien : chacun fait son chemin grâce à cette écriture tout en retenue et en délicatesse, sans être à aucun moment mièvre.

Technique

Marc BAUMANN (1921-2012)

« Ekta Dia , abstraction en bleu », 1991

Huile sur toile signée en bas à droite et datée 91, contresignée, datée et titrée au feutre au dos et étiquetée.

Vers 1991.

Entourage de baguettes de bois naturel.

Dimensions et poids

Hauteur : 97 cm- Largeur : 67 cm

Poids : 1 kg

Mix & Match

Ce tableau est subtil par sa palette apaisée, dans les bleus : du coup, sa grande taille n’est pas un handicap mais un bel atout : nous avons une œuvre d’art dotée d’une personnalité propre, qui s’épanouira sur vos murs, quel que soit les autres tableaux et sculptures que vous présentez. De même, sa gamme chromatique douce lui permet de côtoyer aussi bien une console en bois doré d’époque Louis XV, que de donner un peu de son chatoiement au bureau de la Banque de France en placage de noyer et métal chromé, des années 1965.

Sur les murs, on peut lui faire rencontrer la tapisserie de Daniel de Linières, Vent d’été, à la gamme colorée retenue, ou bien toujours de Daniel de Linières, la tapisserie Nuit d’Espagne, dont les aplats très colorés seront un contrepoint au calme de Baumann.

De façon plus allusive, le lustre Cubico de Gaetano Sciolari, par ses verrines bleutées et son métal chromé fera résonner la poésie d’Ekta Dia de Baumann.

Enfin, sur une table placée pas très loin de notre tableau, les rondeurs chromées de notre lampe de Finimétal pourra l’éclairer.


UGS 129 Catégorie


Partager
Description

En savoir plus

Le peintre

Marc Baumann est un peintre abstrait français né en 1921à Paris, qui vécut à Morainvilliers (Yvelines), mort en 2012 à Orange (Vaucluse).

Marc Baumann se forme à la peinture à l’Ecole Nationale des Arts Décoratifs entre 1940 et 1947, dans l’atelier de Raymond Legueult. Installé à Sceaux, il remporte en 1945 le Prix d’honneur de l’atelier François Desnoyer. Il conçoit des cartons de tapisseries réalisées à Aubusson et pour la Manufacture des Gobelins notamment Le printemps en 1950 et Poème à la mer en 19513.

C’est vers 1980 que la peinture de Marc Baumann glisse de la figuration à l’abstraction.

Expositions personnelles :

Galerie Nayberg, Paris, 1978.

Galerie Air France, Paris, 1979.

Galerie Emma, Paris, 1980.

Galerie Rolde, Paris, 1981.

Galerie Muscade, Paris, 1985, 1987, 1989.

Galerie Saint-Louis, Poissy, 1995.

Mairie d’Aubergenville, 1996.

Ventes de l’atelier Marc Baumann, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, 22 novembre 1999 et 19 mars 2001.

Marc Baumann – Rétrospective, Domaine Berson, Mantes la Jolie, janvier-février 2016.

Réception critique

« Dans le monde contemporain, il n’y a plus de frontière réelle entre l’Orient et l’Occident. L’artiste, en se libérant de jour en jour, atteint un art sans frontière, universel. Zao Wou-Ki le Chinois et Marc Baumann le Français vont à l’abrégé, à l’essentiel. Rien d’autre que la peinture et le sentiment qui la traverse… Pour eux, la peinture est une mélodie exprimant le hasard, l’indécision, l’imagination, les transparences, les lumières, les fissures cachées. La technique disparaît devant l’émotion. La couleur n’existe plus. Seule compte la vibration… L’écriture est dans cette calligraphie lui laisse les traces des pas perdus, des doutes, des hésitations, des repentirs, des éternels recommencements et des grands enthousiasmes. Peinture de l’âme qui ne dit pas mais qui suggère, qui glisse d’une toile à l’autre sans jamais se répéter. Un tableau en entraîne un autre. Un tableau est une ouverture vers le suivant. Chez ces deux peintres, un tableau est à l’intérieur d’une chaîne, d’une série, allant jusqu’à l’épuisement du thème. Ils sont de la race inquiète des peintres exigeants, concentrés, silencieux, sereins. » – Joël Millon et Claude Robert.

Prix et distinctions :

Prix d’honneur de l’atelier François Desnoyer, 1945.

Médaille de la ville de Mantes-la-Jolie, 1978, 1980.

Grand Prix de Deauville,1979.

Prix du Salon du Mans, 1979.

Collections Publiques :

Mobilier National, Paris

Centre national des arts plastiques, Paris, dont dépôt : Rectorat de l’Académie de Paris.

Un tableau authentique et au juste prix

Ce tableau a été soigneusement sélectionné pour ses qualités esthétiques, son originalité et son prix juste. Notre choix privilégie avant tout le talent montré par Marc Baumann dans cette œuvre, gage d’une valorisation de votre nouvelle acquisition dans votre intérieur et d’une faculté à dialoguer avec votre mobilier, à s’accorder et à se mélanger pour créer une décoration unique.

Acheter un tableau vintage est sûrement un investissement raisonnable, tant est grande l’appétence pour les années 1960/1970.

Enfin, acheter un tableau vintage préserve les ressources de la planète terre.

Informations complémentaires
Poids 1 kg
Dimensions 67 × 97 cm
Créateur

Epoque

Livraison rapide

Paiement sécurisé

Support réactif

Livraison rapide

Paiement sécurisé

Support réactif

À propos

Dominique de Paillerets est passionné d’objets et d’art. Il aime particulièrement associer le mobilier des années 70 avec des objets du 18ème siècle, dans l’esprit de Henri Samuel.

Paiement sécurisé

Privacy Preference Center